Marieke ten Wolde's blog

Documentary photography, and other things interesting enough to bother you with

The panoramic format in documentary photography (2)

with 4 comments

With the purchase of a Hasselblad XPAN now quite a few years ago, my interest in photography using the panoramic format was raised. Since then I have tried different subjects, compositions and looked at many images using this format. One of the things I find most difficult is to get a good portrait using this format. The only example I have found so far that I really like are the images from Mikhael Subotski in his series ‘Die vier hoeke’. And maybe this is because the people are all lying down, which makes it easier to ‘fill’ the photograph.

If anybody can help me with some other good examples, please let me know!

.

.

Written by Marieke ten Wolde

November 22, 2011 at 15:10

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. They are in bed waiting for another of Marieke’s bed-time stories.

    William

    November 23, 2011 at 21:45

    • I am not sure what story would get them to sleep peacefully! I will think about it…

      Marieke ten Wolde

      November 24, 2011 at 10:00

  2. Have you tried doing bokenramas?

    Blue Maple Photography

    November 22, 2011 at 18:02

  3. It is hard, I have been looking. Looking forward to any follow up posts with more pics!

    lee

    November 22, 2011 at 16:05


Leave a Reply

