Marieke ten Wolde's blog

Documentary photography, and other things interesting enough to bother you with

Wuhouci Singer

leave a comment »

Last week when I was in Chengdu, I saw that Rob Hornstra won a World Press Photo Award with his wonderful series about the Sochi Singers. So when I saw a singer in Wuhouci, the Tibetan neighbourhood in Chengdu, I took the opportunity to take a few pictures of this ‘Wuhouci Singer’.

He was bravely standing in between police patrol cars, flashing lights and all, singing his Tibetan songs. I wish I knew what he was singing. A few Tibetan man were sitting by listening while fumbling their rosaries, I don’t think they could actually be praying and listening to the songs at the same time.

I managed a few shots before the police came over to send me away, worried I had included them in the pictures, it was obviously not a good time to be interested in anything Tibetan.

Written by Marieke ten Wolde

February 21, 2012 at 15:10

Leave a Reply

