Marieke ten Wolde's blog

Documentary photography, and other things interesting enough to bother you with

One lovely blog award

with 2 comments

Just before I went on holidays  puffinclaire nominated me for the one lovely blog award. I was pleasantly surprised but, shame on me, I took far too much time to take it further.

The truth is, I was a bit hesitant as these nominations require a rather time-consuming follow-up, for me and also for the blogs I would have to nominate. So let’s start with saying to the writers and photographers behind the blogs I nominated: I really enjoy your blogs, thank you for creating and posting them. Feel free to take this award further or ignore it…

The main reason I decided to come up with my list of nominations is that I thought it would be a good idea to share some of the blogs I read and also add a little more ‘me’ to this blog. And of course I really liked being nominated. So, thank you puffinclaire!

The rules are:

1. Add the award to your blog.
2. Thank the blogger(s) who gave it to you.
3. Mention 7 random things about yourself.
4. List the rules.
5. Award up to 15 bloggers.
6. Inform each of those by leaving a comment on their blog.

Seven random things about me

1.  I am a photographer and I am still surprised how much I like writing these blogs. What started as a showcase for some pictures has gotten out of hand, with me spending a lot of time on text. But I loathe writing about myself, so coming up with these 7 things is not an easy task!

2. I love books and I practically live in a library. Now all the walls are filled and I started to put piles on the floor, my (desperate) husband gave me an e-reader for my birthday. And it helps… the piles increase at a slower rate.

3. When I take pictures I forget everything around me including the time. I can not help it, time seems to fast forward when I hold the camera.

4. I love traveling, endless bus and train rides are my favorite. Walking is good as well. Planes and airports on the contrary, brrrr, I hate those.

5. I like drawing and music both very much. It’s a pity I am not particularly good at either of them. But I keep telling myself I will try again when I have more time. Same for learning Chinese.

6. Smelly moldy cheeses are my favorite food. When I lived in the UK there were days I survived on blue Stilton and Guinness.

7. In some aspects I am a bit of a nerd. I can spend hours looking at the PC trying to make my website work better; fix share counts on my blog (still an inconsistent mess) etc. Basically doing stuff I know nothing about with very mixed results.

I found it bloody hard to come up with 7 things about myself and I really hope you enjoy reading them.

And here are the blogs I nominate:

They’re all blogs I follow regularly and I enjoy reading or enjoy looking at the photos. It is in line with my interests for Photography, China/Tibet, News and Travel. I also threw in my favorite blog about writing. It is a mixed bag of professional blogs and personal blogs. I hope you have a look and that you will enjoy them as well!

Sova

Broken Light Collective

Welshman in China

The Photobook

Dean Reynolds Photography

Cristian Mihai

David Brunetti Photography

Into the Middle Kingdom

EDV Ankor Gallery

Slightly Reworded

China Daily Mail

Simply Tibetan, Simply Delicious

Living, Libraries and (Dead) Languages

Alejandra Aroyo

Standing in an Open Field

Thank you puffinclaire for nominating me and giving me the chance to share!

Written by Marieke ten Wolde

September 17, 2012 at 10:29

Posted in General

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Marieke la, Thank you so much for the plug. It is very kind. I enjoy your blog very much and look forward to your book coming out soon. Best, SimplyTibetan

    simplytibetan

    September 21, 2012 at 04:30

    • Thank you, you got me back into trying some Tibetan recipes! With regards to the book, when the time is right I will share on the blog!

      Marieke ten Wolde

      September 23, 2012 at 21:31


Leave a Reply

