Marieke ten Wolde's blog

Documentary photography, and other things interesting enough to bother you with

In memoriam …

with 3 comments

In memoriam… luckily this has nothing to do with anything serious.

It’s my personal computer, yesterday it has officially been declared dead by the repair shop. No computer also means no access to my photos, Photoshop or my texts for this week’s blog… All is backed-up, but to use a back-up one needs a computer, and the new one will only be ready this afternoon, hopefully.

But there are good things about not having a computer, yesterday I spent the afternoon cleaning out my book shelves and I found my photo album from my very first trip to Tibet in 1998, an album I had completely forgotten about. When flipping through it I realised once more how much has changed.

The wooden rooftops are now hard to find, they are largely replaced by corrugated iron. Those nomad women in front of the Yokhang? This year, due to the ongoing unrest, they probably will not even be allowed into Lhasa and if they are, they will not be allowed to sit down or gather in groups of more then 3 people. A man with a horse carriage? Now mostly replaced by tractors and that road has been paved many years ago.

(All pictures are made by me and reproduced with the camera on my mobile phone from the yellowish photo album)


.

.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. nice pics – maybe this enforced technique provides an area of expression/experimentation that you can exploit.

    Stephen G. Hipperson

    September 30, 2012 at 08:04

    • Thank you Stephen. I did a lot of the B&W analogue stuff before, the mobile, strangely, gives it an even more antiquated look. It is funny how lack of a the usual tools forces one to be more creative. I am not sure about the result though, I think I have a color version similar to the second photo which I like better. But you are right, I will experiment a bit more, see if can make it work.
      I found it surprising hard to take pictures with the mobile phone (iphone) though, it never framed the way I wanted to! How do all these people constantly using their smartphone for snapshots do this?

      Marieke ten Wolde

      September 30, 2012 at 12:00

      • 🙂 – I guess practice makes perfect? I think it’s great to mess about and experiment, even if it’s prompted by circumstances we’d rather not have!

        Stephen G. Hipperson

        September 30, 2012 at 22:42


Leave a Reply

